A poem

I just wrote this:

***

I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with the coffee shop girl
with the boy’s blonde curl
with the whole fucking world
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with the school bus man
and his life’s long plan
which he fears is a sham
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with right ones and wrong ones
with up and comers and over dones
with ones I love and just for fun
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with Obama’s hope
and political dope
and Christ I can’t cope
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with touchdowns and goals
with directors and roles
with hills and holes
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with my children

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with a mysterious God
and His little nod
so on I plod
I fall in love ten hundred times a day

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
with you and me
and her and him
and I weep
for the sad state we’re in

but then

I fall in love ten hundred times a day
I fall in love
I fall

– Benjamin Lloyd
January 4, 2010

A poem, originally published Monday, January 4, 2010